Happy New Year, and Looking Ahead at 2015

Icon - Link from Zelda Wii U2014 was a fairly steady year for Lark’s Island, and things won’t be changing too much for 2015. Thanks to all of you who have read my blog and posted comments!

However, if you’re familiar with this blog, you might have figured out that I’m a Nintendo fan. I’ve recently turned 36, and I’ve been enjoying Nintendo’s games and systems for most of my life. Even when there were times I thought I might be drifting away from them, I always came back. Even when it wasn’t “cool” to be into Nintendo, I followed my own interests. At this point, it’s just something that’s part of my life.

I’ve been thinking about that this past year. Nintendo is one of the most enigmatic and divisive entities in the videogame industry. Seeing the various reactions to the things Nintendo has done over the years has been kind of strange. Yes, Nintendo has done its fair share of ridiculous things, but also a lot of fantastic things. I suppose there will always be fanboys on both sides of the fence, but when I think about it, I’m a little bewildered that Nintendo’s lateral, unconventional style isn’t more valued and respected among the greater gaming community.

I’d like to spend some time exploring that from my own personal perspective. Why do I choose to continue being a Nintendo fan? What is it about this company that captures my imagination year after year, generation after generation?

So, that’s what I’m planning on doing with my blog in 2015, in addition to some of the regular articles like Arcade Mania. I hope you’ll check it out!

Have a happy new year!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year, and Looking Ahead at 2015

  1. It’s funny you mention examining why Nintendo continues to speak to you, as I’ve had the same thoughts lately. Having picked up a 3DS and a Wii U the past year, I’ve rediscovered Nintendo in a big way. I think the DS and the Wii were odd periods in their gaming career, with Nintendo themselves trying to find their niche in the gaming sphere and drifting a little too far from what attracted me to them in the first place. With the 3DS and Wii U, it seems that those experimental phases are over and that Nintendo is quite serious once again with their gaming projects. It reminds me some of the N64 and Gamecube eras, which brought some of Nintendo’s finest games out of them due to desperation. Perhaps I prefer the feisty, scrappy Nintendo in contrast to comfortable, safe Nintendo that the Wii and DS propagated.

    Anyway, I look forward to your thoughts on the matter, and maybe I’ll consider looking more into my feelings as well. 😉 Happy New Year my friend!

    1. Nester

      Happy new year, Wildcat! 😀

      You’re not the first to prefer Desperate Nintendo over Fat & Happy Nintendo. However, I’m a little bit of a Wii/DS apologist. I have a tremendous amount of respect for their decision to go in the direction they did. And let’s not forget that the Wii and DS were the RESULT of one of Nintendo’s most desperate periods. Still, I agree that the Wii U does feel a little more like GameCube-era Nintendo, which I’m all for!

      I would definitely be interested in reading your thoughts if you choose to write about them!

      1. Well, when I look over my Wii collection, I find that I only really got into the Mario platformers, Sin and Punishment, Smash Bros. (although I have updated to the Wii U/3DS version), Kirby’s Epic Yarn and The Last Story. Xenoblade was also good, but I got burned out on it 50 hours in and have no desire to get back into it. The DS games are even skimpier, with the only Nintendo game I still own being Hotel Dusk (and the Layton and Dragon Quest games, but those don’t really count). Most of those are second party titles.

        Zelda disappointed. Metroid disappointed. Fire Emblem disappointed. On the other hand, the Wii and DS had a plethora of third-party wealth that I like more. The Wii had A Boy and His Blob, the definitive Resident Evil 4, Muramasa: The Demon Blade, Tatsunoko vs. Capcom, and Dead Space Extraction, most of which I like more than the majority of Nintendo’s output for the system that I didn’t mention above. The DS had three solid Castlevanias (even if Dawn of Sorrow irked me with its ice blocks and Magic Seals), five Ace Attorney games, Ghost Trick, the many Dragon Quests, a wonderful port of Chrono Trigger, and Monster Tale. I love all of those, and yet only loved one Ninty DS game to that level.

        So yeah, I agree that the Wii and DS came about from desperation, but I think that Nintendo’s comfort once they hit the mainstream appeal affected their creativity.

        But I’ll flesh this out more when I get around to writing my essay on Nintendo. 😉 Yes, I want to actually do it now, so thanks for the conversation!

Have something to say? Speak up!

