Castlevania-thon 2014 Begins

Richter Belmont iconIt’s that time of year again, and once more, I will attempt to play as much Castlevania as I can this month. It might be a little more challenging this time, as I have more distractions. Hyrule Warriors just came out, and I expect to be playing that a lot. Plus, there’s some PC games I’m working on. Still, I definitely have some good reasons to play Castlevania, as well. (For example, it’s Castlevania.)

For the past couple of years, I’ve been playing through all of the games I own in order of the official timeline (shoehorning in some of the non-canonical ones). This year, I only have one left: Dawn of Sorrow. Once I complete that, I figured I would start over, except this time, I would play them in order of their release dates. It should be interesting to see how the franchise evolved over the years both in technology and design.

However, as it turns out, Castlevania: Dracula X is being released on the Wii U Virtual Console this week, and I’ve never played it, so I plan on downloading it. I know it’s not considered anywhere near as good as Rondo of Blood (which I already have on the original Wii Virtual Console), but I’m going to get it anyway because I’m a nerd!

Castlevania: Dracula X screenshot

So, the plan is to finish Dawn of Sorrow, then play Dracula X, and then move on to the original NES version of Castlevania, and so on.

I was pretty burned out on Castlevania by the end of last October, but I’m ready for another round! Maybe I can pace myself a little better this year.

Have something to say? Speak up!

