Castlevania-thon ’13

Castlevania-thon '13Special update here just to talk about a new tradition I seem to have, and that’s my annual “Castlevania-thon.” For the month of October, leading up to Halloween, I play a bunch of Castlevania games, usually in order of the official time line (with any “non-canonical” games wedged in where I see fit). I don’t actually stream them online or anything (although I would if I had the right equipment), it’s just for my personal enjoyment.

It’s funny, because it’s a tradition that just kind of emerged on its own. If you’re a gamer (and if you’re reading my blog, it’s likely you are), then every Halloween, you probably pull out some horror games, like Silent Hill or Resident Evil, or at least horror-themed games, like Castlevania or Ghosts ‘N Goblins. Well, that’s what I do, and I always gravitated towards Castlevania since it’s one of my favorite series. So, a couple of years ago, I thought, “why not just play Castlevania games all month long?”

Super Castlevania IV
Super Castlevania IV

Last year was the first time I tried to formalize it, and I set out to finish as many games in the series as I could in one month. I started with Dracula’s Curse, and worked my way up the official time line with the games that I own. I enjoyed it so much that I’ve been looking forward to doing it again this year pretty much ever since I finished last year!

And so, with today being the first of October, I’m kicking off Castlevania-thon ’13! (Perfect year, eh?) Since I wasn’t able to play Super Castlevania IV last year, I’ll be starting with that. And then I’ll pick up where I left off with Rondo of Blood, so I’ve got two of the best games right off the bat.

Rondo of Blood
Dracula X: Rondo of Blood

I also plan on writing some Castlevania-themed articles for the blog, just as I have for the past couple of years, so please look forward to that!

If you have any Halloween gaming traditions, I’d love to hear about them! Please post a comment below!

Have something to say? Speak up!

