RPG Journal – The Long Haul, Part 2

RPG Journal

How long is too long?

I don’t think I’ve ever played a game as long as Xenoblade Chronicles. I’ve spent more time on shorter games if you count replays, but for a single playthrough of one game, the most time I’ve ever spent was probably around 60-65 hours. I’ve passed the 90-hour mark in Xenoblade, and I’m expecting it to continue well past 100.

Xenoblade Chronicles Box Art

As an adult, I think I prefer shorter games that I can replay. But anything that lasts longer than 30 (or even 20) hours feels like a pretty big commitment. That’s a full day out of my life. I have to admit, I get a little intimidated by long games.

There’s also something to be said for games that find the right length. Even the best game can start to drag if it lasts for too long. I’ve been pacing myself with Xenoblade, playing it off and on, to avoid fatigue.

But I can’t deny that it’s still immensely fun. Even approaching 100 hours in, I’m captivated every time I turn it on. Each new incredible environment still fills me with awe, and makes me want to explore every inch of it. It says something that a game can last so long, and yet still maintain its enchantment over me. There’s so much to see and do in this game, it is simply overwhelming. That’s probably how it manages to stay fresh.

So, what am I really complaining about? Just too much of a good thing. And there are certainly worse issues for a game to have.

Have something to say? Speak up!

