One Year on Lark’s Island

Today marks the first anniversary of Lark’s Island! To celebrate this milestone, I thought I would pick some of my favorite articles from the past year and re-post them. Please check them out!

Here’s to another year!


Screen shot of Sonic the Hedgehog

Capturing Sonic the Hedgehog

This was my first attempt at academically analyzing a screenshot from a video game. An odd idea, perhaps, but I was always pretty happy with how it turned out. I think this represents one of the visions of Lark’s Island, which is to explore new ways of examining video games.


Then and Now – Sega

A very brief and straightforward history of Sega. Nothing too fancy here, but I think Sega has a pretty interesting history, and lot of people probably aren’t familiar with it. I had fun researching this one.


Fatal Fury: King of Fighters

Fatal Fury – The Other Street Fighter II

An essay discussing SNK’s Fatal Fury as an alternate evolution of Capcom’s Street Fighter. I always hope that my articles can be informative, and I think I put some interesting things into this one.


Super Metroid

Super Metroid’s Ceres Station

This is a recent one (published last week!), but again, I’m happy with how it came out. It expands the screenshot analysis to a full gameplay sequence, this time focusing on the introductory area of Super Metroid.

2 thoughts on “One Year on Lark’s Island

Have something to say? Speak up!

