RPG Journal – The Black Gate is Destroyed

I have finished Ultima VII: The Black Gate. After all these years, I’m glad to finally be able to say that! And I can legitimately agree with the popular consensus that it is the best game in the series. From a technical standpoint, it is a product of its time, being choppy, clunky, and a bit tedious at times. But from a design and narrative standpoint, the quality still holds up 20 years later.

Unfortunately, this is the last game in the series to be made before Origin Systems was bought out by EA. The series began to suffer almost immediately after this, although Ultima VII, Part 2: Serpent Isle is still fairly well regarded.

But as eager as I am to move on with the series, I really do need to take a break from it and focus on some other games. And as it happens, today is the official North American release date for The Last Story. It’s my next RPG target, although I probably won’t be playing it until next week.

I also need to try to re-orient myself in Xenoblade Chronicles, and pick up where I left off. I don’t want to leave that game unfinished, either.

2 thoughts on “RPG Journal – The Black Gate is Destroyed

    1. Nester

      Thanks! Thinking about it, there are a surprising number of parallels between Ultima VII and Xenoblade. Not narratively, but in their focus on world exploration and simulation.

Have something to say? Speak up!

