RPG Journal – Britannia is safe! …For now.

Ultima VI: The False ProphetI have finally completed Ultima VI: The False Prophet! It’s the first Ultima game I’ve finished since Ultima VIII back in the ’90s. Thankfully, that one period of grinding was all I needed to survive the rest of the game. I admit that I relied fairly heavily on a walkthrough, but I would’ve given up long ago if I hadn’t. I’m just relieved that I managed to get through it. It was actually a fairly large and complex game, even if it was really just a series of fetch quests embedded within fetch quests.

I don’t know if I’ll jump into Ultima VII right away. I’m a little worn out on the series right now, and I’ve got some other games I need to get back to. Namely, Xenoblade beckons to me, and now that I’ve got my Wii hooked up again, I should see about making some progress in it. I’ve also gotten curious about the obscure Quest for Glory series that’s currently available on GOG.com, and I wouldn’t mind trying those out at some point.

UPDATE: Wouldn’t you know it? As soon as I finish Ultima VI, GOG.com would suddenly release both of the Worlds of Ultima spin-off games, The Savage Empire and Martian Dreams, for free. These games are rather rare, and they both run on the Ultima VI engine, so it’s pretty impressive that GOG.com and EA are giving them away. I’ve added them to my account, but I don’t expect to be diving into them for a while.

I almost wish I had gotten Ultima Underworld 1+2 when they were on sale a couple of weeks ago just to have the whole series (except for Ultima IX, which isn’t on GOG.com yet, but everyone hates it anyway).

2 thoughts on “RPG Journal – Britannia is safe! …For now.

  1. Jason X

    Nice job! There’s nothing to be ashamed of when it comes to using a walkthrough on that game. The world is huuuuuge, and your goals aren’t often very clear.

    Ultimat VI might not be as user-friendly as a lot of modern RPGs, or as pretty, but it’s always good to get an idea for how things used to be.

    1. Nester-Lvl

      It really does highlight the difference between the manual control of retro games and modern streamlining. There’s a quest late in the game where you have to construct a hot air balloon. In a modern game, all you would have to do is collect all the materials, and the game would instantly make the balloon for you. In Ultima VI, however, you have to combine a few things yourself, and then know to go into your inventory and use the “Use” command on the instructions.

      I suppose there’s a fine balance between how much control is given to players, and how much the experience should be automated.

Have something to say? Speak up!

