RPG Journal – Sightseeing in Britannia

As I mentioned in my previous post, I was interested in playing through more of the Ultima games, and as it happens, I’ve taken an abrupt detour into the world of Britannia. I’ve begun a game of Ultima VI: The False Prophet, and have been working on it for a few days now. And it’s not that I’ve lost any interest in Xenoblade, or that I don’t intend to finish it, but circumstances are causing me to take a break from it.

Ultima VI: The False Prophet

Also as I mentioned previously, I was afraid that the Ultima games would take a substantial commitment, but I seem to be cruising through Ultima VI just fine. I’ve already liberated five out of the eight shrines, and then I’ll get on with the main storyline. The archaic interface can be a little tedious to work with occasionally, but I’ve gotten accustomed to it pretty quickly. Overall, I’ve gotten into a nice groove with the game.

That’s something I’ve often had trouble with when playing Ultima. For some reason, it was always difficult for me to figure out what the “proper” way to play an Ultima game was. Maybe I’ve made enough attempts over the years to gain a decent understanding, or maybe I just happen to be in the perfect frame of mind this time, but things seem to be finally falling into place for me.

Of course, I am using the Internet to help relieve some of the more tedious details. A decent map and a FAQ with a chart that shows exactly where the Orb of Moons teleports you makes things move along more smoothly. (Having to make your own map and notes is so 1990!)

So, at this rate, maybe I’ll actually finish Ultima VI this time. Hopefully I won’t end up getting stuck or frustrated before then.

4 thoughts on “RPG Journal – Sightseeing in Britannia

    1. Nester-Lvl

      Not really. I think I messed around with a fan remake several years ago, but in general, I’m not very good at point-and-click adventure games. (Altho, I did work my way through Myst in the ’90s, but then again, who didn’t? 🙂 )

  1. Jason X

    Looks like your post was from a couple of weeks ago. Were you able to beat the game in the interim? You’re absolutely right that Ultima games feel like archaeology compared to modern RPGs, but they do have a certain charm of their own.

    1. Nester-Lvl

      I have not yet beaten Ultima VI. Once I liberated all the shrines, things kinda slowed down. And since I’ve been busy moving (and computer-deprived), I haven’t made any progress since then, but I am motivated to get back to it, so that’s gotta count for something.

Have something to say? Speak up!

