RPG Journal – The Power of the Monado

So, it’s been more than a week, and I’ve been playing Xenoblade Chronicles quite a bit. But is it reviving my interest in RPGs?

Well, I think it might be, based on the account that I’m now more interested in playing The Last Story now that I’ve had a chance to try Xenoblade. That’s got to be a good sign.

As far as whether Xenoblade is the mix of Japanese and Western RPG designs I’ve been wanting to see for the past decade, well, I think it comes pretty close. The flow of the story certainly feels Japanese in the sense that I feel like I’m being led by it rather than being the one who is driving it forward myself, but it’s not done in an overbearing way, so I don’t see it as a problem. I do love the open, free-form nature of the environments, in which I can explore and discover things on my own and take side quests at my leisure. At the end of the day, though, it is very much a Japanese RPG, and I don’t mean that as a bad thing, but it’s clear which side of the fence it falls on.

Have something to say? Speak up!

